The Encounter

What I am now
is all thanks to
A silly cow
roaming the fields
beneath the sun.
I approached him
and asked him
how he could be
so, so silly.
With a small gleam
in his cow eye
he told me that
I should murder
my parents, chop-up their limbs
and bury the remains in different locations and then flee
to Mexico with enough money to bribe the authorities and anyone else.

While he spoke
I realized that
dinnertime neared,
so I went back
home, and never
looked
back.

—–

Written for Right2Write Prompt#7: Flowers and Cattle

Image courtesy of Under the Skies of Arkansas.

6 thoughts on “The Encounter

  1. Oh! That took me by surprise. Interesting and harrowing as well; a hallucination may be. But that depends on how one interprets it.
    Thought-provoking and very well-written. Thanks for sharing and participating in the prompt.

      • Yes, it certainly took a step to the left, didn’t it. It is nice to get a poem to surprise you now and then.
        I often always think how close we are in everyday life to chaos. How one thought feeling and then action can change anything. For me that’s how this poem makes me feel. He had all of something bottled inside him and all it took was this one everyday incident…
        I like it very much. The punchy short lines reflect to me his thought pattern and then when murder is mentioned his thoughts come out in longer insane lengths. Then the last stanza is his resolve…

Leave a Reply

